1928 Charter

Court of Common Pleas


Mt. Bethel Volunteer Fire Co.


Be it known, that the subscribers, citizens of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, having associated themselves together for the purpose of organization the Mount Bethel Volunteer Fire Company of Mount Bethel, Northampton County, Pennsylvania, and being desirous of becoming incorporated agreeable to the provisions of the Act of General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania entitled "An Act to Provide for the Incorporation and Regulation of Certain Corporations," approved by the 29th day of April, A.D. 1974, and its supplements, do hereby, set forth and certify that the following are the purposes, objects, articles and conditions of their said association, for and upon which they desire to be incorporated.

First: The name of the Corporation shall be "Mt. Bethel Volunteer Fire Company."

Second: The purpose for which the corporation is formed is the maintenance of a fire engine, or engines, hose carts, hooks, ladders and other property and applies incident to and pertaining to the prevention of and control of fire and by maintaining a building for the purpose of housing its appliances and where its members can congregate for said purposes.

Third: The place where the business of the said corporation is to be transacted is in the Village of Mount Bethel, in the County of Northampton and State of Pennsylvania.

Fourth: The Corporation shall have perpetual succession by its corporate name.

Fifth. The names and residences of subscribers are as follows, to wit:

H.O. Cross, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

Charles Eyer, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

Jacob Eyer, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

Charles E., Felker, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

J.R. Hagerman, Mt. bethel, Pa.

A.S. Hunt, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

George Percival, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

Ed Oyer, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

Lloyd Correll, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

William Hontz, Mt. Bethel, Pa.

Sixth: The officers of the corporation shall be a president, a vice president, a secretary and a treasurer. Together with the members being fellows, shall compose a board of three trustees or directors chosen for the first year shall be three and the names and residents of those who are chosen are: President, Harold Coss; Vice President, Frederick Hunt; Secretary, Robert Farleigh; and Treasurer, John Felker, all of Mt. Bethel, Northampton County, Pennsylvania.

Seventh: The corporation has no capital stock, fees for membership and annual dues from members shall be assessed as the corporation by its bylaws may determine, which fees and dues will be applied to promoting the purpose for which the corporation is formed.

Eighth: The yearly income of the said corporation, other than that derived from real estate shall not exceed the sum of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000).